Western U.S. Tours

Our Western U.S. tours take you to a variety of exciting destinations from Alaska to California. Check out all our West Coast train trips and find the right one for you!

Kaleidoscope of Winter Wonders - 2015

Days 1-3    Chicago to Sacramento
Day 4    Yosemite National Park
Day 5    En Route San Diego
Day 6    San Diego
Day 7    En Route Santa Barbara
Day 8    Santa Barbara
Day 9    En Route Seattle
Day 10    Seattle
Days 11-12    Seattle to Chicago

12 Days

Fri., Feb. 6 to Tues., Feb. 17, 2015

America from Coast to Coast - 2015

Day 1-2    Chicago to New York
Day 3    New York City
Day 4    En Route to New Orleans
Day 5    New Orleans
Days 6-7    En Route/Los Angeles
Days 8    En Route/San Francisco
Day 9    San Francisco
Days 10-12    En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Fri., April 10 to Tues., April 21, 2015

America the Beautiful . . . West - 2015

Days 1-2 Chicago to Flagstaff
Day 3 The Grand Canyon
Days 4-5 En Route/Las Vegas
Day 6 En Route/Merced
Day 7 Yosemite National Park
Day 8 Sacramento
Days 9-10 En Route/San Francisco
Day 11 En Route to Elko, Nevada
Day 12 Salt Lake City, Utah
Days 13-14 En Route to Chicago

14 Days

Tues., May 5 to Mon., May 18, 2015

Copper Canyon of Mexico - 2014

Days 1-3    En Route Tucson
Day 4    Tucson / San Carlos
Days 5-6    San Carlos / El Fuerte
Days 7-8    El Chepe Train /     Copper Canyon
Day 9    Casas Grandes
Day 10    En Route Tucson
Days 11-13    En Route to Chicago

13 Days

Fri., Oct. 3 to Wed., Oct. 15, 2014

National Parks of the Southwest -2014

Days 1-2    Chicago to Grand Junction / Moab
Day 3    Arches / Canyonlands National Parks
Day 4    Capitol Reef
Day 5    Monument Valley
Day 6    Grand Canyon/Winslow
Day 7    Petrified Forest
Day 8     En Route / Tucson
Day 9    Desert Museum / Saguaro National Park
Days 10-12    En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Thurs., Sept. 25 to Mon., Oct. 6

Yellowstone/Black Hills/Mt. Rushmore  -2014

Days 1-2 Chicago to Glenwood Springs
Day 3 Jackson Hole
Day 4 Grand Tetons
Day 5 Yellowstone Nat’l Park
Day 6 En Route to Cody, WY
Day 7 Buffalo Bill Historic Center
Day 8 Black Hills / Mt. Rushmore
Day 9 Deadwood, Custer State Pk
Days 10-11 En Route to Chicago

11 Days

Thurs., May 8 to Sun., May 18, 2014 - SOLD OUT

Mon., July 7 to Thurs., July 17 - SOLD OUT

Mon., Aug. 4 to Thurs., Aug. 14 - NEW DATE

Mon. Aug. 11 to Thurs., Aug. 21 - SOLD OUT

Mon., Sept. 8 to Thurs., Sept. 18 - SOLD OUT

Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta -2014

Days 1-2   Chicago to Grand Junction
Days 3-4    Durango
Day 5    Taos / Santa Fe
Day 6    Santa Fe
Days 7-8    Albuquerque
Days 9-10    En Route to Chicago

10 Days

Sun., Sept. 28 to Tues., Oct. 7 - - SOLD OUT

Please call for waitlist information

Golden West Rail Ramble -2014
  • Days 1-3 Chicago to San Francisco
  • Day 4 San Francisco
  • Day 5 Napa Valley Wine Train
  • Day 6 Monterey
  • Day 7 Cambria
  • Day 8 Hearst Castle
  • Day 9 Catalina Island
  • Day 10 Los Angeles
  • Days 11-12 En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Thurs., Sept. 4 to Mon., Sept. 15

LIMITED SPACE REMAINING

Seattle / San Francisco Express -2014
  • 1-3 Chicago to Seattle on The Empire Builder
  • Days 3-4 Seattle
  • Day 5 Seattle to San Francisco on The Coast Starlight
  • Days 6-7 San Francisco
  • Days 8-10 San Francisco to Chicago on The California Zephyr

10 Days

Sun., Oct. 5 to Tues., Oct. 14

Glacier and Canada's Mountain Majesty  -2014
  • Days 1-2   Chicago to Whitefish
  • Day 3    Glacier National Park
  • Day 4    En Route / Banff
  • Day 5    Banff
  • Day 6    Jasper
  • Day 7    Maligne Lake / Mt. Robson
  • Day 8    Icefields Parkway /   Lethbridge
  • Days 9-10    En Route to Chicago

10 Days

Tues., July 22 to Thurs., July 31 - SOLD OUT

Sun., Aug. 3 to Tues., Aug. 12 - SOLD OUT

Sun., Sept. 7 to Tues., Sept. 16 - SOLD OUT

Sun., Sept. 14 to Tues., Sept. 23 - NEW DATE

Hawaii by Rail with a little help from Princess Cruises -2014
  • Days 1-3 Chicago to San Francisco
  • Day 4 San Francisco/Grand Princess
  • Days 5-8 Cruising
  • Day 9 Hilo, Hawaii
  • Day 10 Honolulu
  • Day 11 Nawiliwili, Kauai
  • Day 12 Lahaina, Maui
  • Days 13-16 Cruising
  • Day 17 Ensenada, Mexico
  • Day 18 Cruising
  • Day 19 San Francisco
  • Days 20-22 En Route to Chicago

22 Days

Fri., Jan. 31 to Fri., Feb. 21

Legacy of Flight

New York
Washington, D.C.
Pensacola
New Orleans
Tucson
Tillamook
Seattle
The Crescent
Sunset Limited
Coast Starlight

16 Days

Mon., Mar. 24 to Tues., Apr. 8 - SOLD OUT

Please call for waitlist information

Pacific Coastal Odyssey - 2014

Days 1-3    Chicago to Los Angeles
Day 4    Norwegian Sun
Day 5    At Sea
Day 6    San Francisco
Day 7    At Sea
Day 8    Astoria, Oregon
Day 9    Victoria, B. C.
Day 10    Vancouver/Seattle
Days 10-12    En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Sat., May 10 to Wed., May 21

America from Coast to Coast  -2014

Day 1-2 Chicago to New York
Day 3 New York City
Day 4 En Route to New Orleans
Day 5 New Orleans
Days 6-7 En Route/Los Angeles
Days 8 En Route/San Francisco
Day 9 San Francisco
Days 10-12 En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Fri., April 4 to Tues., April 15 - LIMITED SPACE REMAINING

Fri., Oct. 24 to Tues., Nov. 4 - LIMITED SPACE REMAINING

America the Beautiful . . . West     -2014

Days 1-2 Chicago to Flagstaff
Day 3 The Grand Canyon
Days 4-5 En Route/Las Vegas
Day 6 En Route/Merced
Day 7 Yosemite National Park
Day 8 Sacramento
Days 9-10 En Route/San Francisco
Day 11 En Route to Elko, Nevada
Day 12 Salt Lake City, Utah
Days 13-14 En Route to Chicago

14 Days

Tues., May 6 to Mon., May 19 LIMITED SPACE AVAILABLE

Tues., Sept. 9 to Mon., Sept. 22 LIMITED SPACE AVAILABLE

Kaleidoscope of Winter Wonders - 2014

Days 1-3 Chicago to Sacramento
Day 4 Yosemite National Park
Day 5 En Route San Diego
Day 6 San Diego
Day 7 En Route Santa Barbara
Day 8 Santa Barbara
Day 9 En Route Seattle
Day 10 Seattle
Days 11-12 Seattle to Chicago

12 Days

Fri., Feb. 7 to Tues., Feb. 18, 2014

Northwest Explorer -2014

Days 1-3 En Route Chicago to Emeryville
Day 4 San Francisco
Day 5 Coast Starlight /Newport, Oregon
Day 6 Portland
Day 7 En Route to Seattle
Day 8 Seattle
Days 9-10 En Route to Chicago

10 Days

Fri., Aug., 1 to Sun., Aug., 10 - - SOLD OUT

Please call for waitlist information

Have Questions?

Have questions about an America by Rail tour? Use the contact form below and an ABR representative will be in touch shortly.
* Required

Golden Spike Rewards Program

As an America by Rail customer you are automatically enrolled as a member of our Golden Spike Rewards Program.

Follow Us On
Twitter
@americabyrail