Western U.S. Tours

Our Western U.S. tours take you to a variety of exciting destinations from Alaska to California. With breathtaking scenery all across the west, you will never have a bad view out your window no matter what tour you choose. Check out all our West Coast train trips and find the right one for you!

National Parks of the Southwest - 2018

Days 1-2    Chicago to Grand Junction / Moab
Day 3    Arches / Canyonlands National Parks
Day 4    Capitol Reef Nat’l Park
Day 5    Monument Valley
Day 6    Lake Powell
Day 7     Grand Canyon National Park North Rim
Day 8    Kanab to Lehi
Day 9    Thanksgiving Point
Day 10    Salt Lake City to Price
Days 11-12    En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Fri., Sept. 14 to Tues., Sept. 25, 2018

Canyonlands - 2018

Days 1-2    Chicago to Flagstaff
Day 3    The Grand Canyon
Day 4    Lake Powell
Day 5    Bryce Canyon Zion National Parks
Day 6    Las Vegas
Days 7-8    Sedona
Days 9-10    En Route to Chicago

10 Days

Sat., Sept. 15 to Mon., Sept. 24, 2018

Scenic Colorado and its Trains - 2018
  • Days 1-2 En Route to 
  • Grand Junction
  • Day 3 Durango & Silverton
  • Narrow Gauge Railroad
  • Day 4 Durango / Mesa Verde
  • Day 5 Cumbres & Toltec 
  • Railroad
  • Day 6 Royal Gorge Railroad
  • Day 7 Pikes Peak Cog Railway
  • Day 8 Denver
  • Day 9 En Route to Chicago

9 Days

Thurs., July 5 to Fri., July 13, 2018

LIMITED SPACE AVAILABLE

Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Grand Junction
Days 3-4 Durango
Day 5 En Route / Santa Fe
Day 6 Santa Fe
Days 7-8 Albuquerque
Days 9-10 En Route to Chicago

10 Days

Sun., Sept. 30 to Tues., Oct. 9, 2018

Totally Trains (California Zephyr) - 2018

Days 1-3 Chicago to Emeryville
Day 4 Arrive Portland, Oregon
Day 5 En Route
Day 6 Arrive Chicago

6 Days

Thurs., July 26 to Tues., July 31, 2018

Thurs., Oct. 25 to Tues., Oct. 30, 2018

Golden West Rail Ramble - 2018

Days 1-3 Chicago to San Francisco
Day 4 San Francisco
Day 5 Napa Valley Wine Train
Day 6 Monterey
Day 7 Cambria
Day 8 Hearst Castle / Santa Barbara
Day 9 Catalina Island
Day 10 Los Angeles
Days 11-12 En Route to Chicago

12 Days

Wed., Sept. 5 to Sun., Sept. 16, 2018

Northwest Explorer - 2018

Days 1-3 En Route Chicago to Emeryville
Day 4 San Francisco
Day 5 Coast Starlight / Crater Lake National Park
Day 6 Newport
Day 7 Astoria / Portland
Day 8 En Route to Seattle
Day 9 Seattle
Days 10-11 En Route to Chicago

11 Days

Wed., Aug. 1 to Sat., Aug. 11, 2018

Seattle / San Francisco Express - 2018

Days 1-3 Chicago to Seattle on The Empire Builder
Days 3-4 Seattle
Day 5 Seattle to San Francisco 
on The Coast Starlight
Days 6-7 San Francisco
Days 8-10 San Francisco to Chicago on The California Zephyr

10 Days

Sun., Sept. 30 to Tues., Oct. 9, 2018

Western Canada Scenic Expedition - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Shelby
Day 3 Calgary / Banff
Days 4-5 Banff / Icefields Parkway
Day 6 Maligne Lake Cruise
Day 7 Skeena / Prince George
Day 8 Skeena / Prince Rupert
Day 9 Inside Passage
Day 10 Port Hardy to Victoria
Day 11 Victoria / Vancouver Island
Day 12 Vancouver
Days 13-15 En Route to Chicago

15 Days

Thurs., Aug. 9 to Thurs., Aug. 23, 2018

California and Northwest Coastal Odyssey - 2018
Days 1-3 Chicago to
Los Angeles
Day 4 Embarkation /
The Star Princess®
Day 5 Santa Barbara
Day 6 Cruising
Day 7 San Francisco
Day 8 Cruising
Day 9 Astoria, Oregon
Day 10 Nanaimo, British Columbia
Day 11 Vancouver
Days 11-13 Seattle to Chicago

13 Days

Sat., March 31 to Thurs., April 12, 2018

Alaska by Rail - 2018

Day 1 Arrive Fairbanks
Day 2 Fairbanks
Day 3 Alaska’s Railroad to Denali National Park
Day 4 Husky Homestead / Anchorage
Day 5 Anchorage
Day 6 Seward
Day 7 Whittier / Prince William Sound
Day 8 Hubbard Glacier
Day 9 Glacier Bay
Day 10 Skagway
Day 11 Juneau
Day 12 Ketchikan
Day 13 Cruising
Day 14 Vancouver / Seattle
Days 15-16 En Route to Chicago

16 Days

Thurs., Sept. 6 to Fri., Sept. 21, 2018

America from Coast to Coast - 2018

Day 1-2 Chicago to New York
Day 3 New York City
Day 4 En Route to ew Orleans
Day 5 New Orleans
Days 6-7 En Route / Los Angeles
Days 8 En Route / San Francisco
Day 9 San Francisco
Days 10-12 En Route to Chicago

 

12 Days

Fri., Mar. 23 to Tues., Apr. 3, 2018 - Limited space remaining

Fri., Oct. 19 to Tues., Oct. 30, 2018

Yellowstone / Black Hills / Mt. Rushmore  - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Glenwood Springs
Day 3 Jackson Hole
Day 4 Grand Tetons
Day 5 Yellowstone National Park
Day 6 En Route to Cody, WY
Day 7 Buffalo Bill Historic Center
Day 8 Black Hills / Mt. Rushmore
Day 9 Deadwood, Custer State Park
Days 10-11 En Route to Chicago

11 Days

Mon., May 7 to Thurs., May 17, 2018 - SOLD OUT

Mon., July 9 to Thurs., July 19, 2018

Mon., Aug. 13 to Thurs., Aug. 23, 2018

Mon., Sept. 10 to Thurs., Sept. 20, 2018

Yellowstone / Yosemite Summer Magic - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Salt Lake City
Day 4 Salt Lake City / Jackson Hole
Day 5 Grand Tetons
Day 6 Yellowstone
Day 7 En Route
Day 8 En Route / Merced
Day 9 Yosemite
Days 10-12 En Route to Chicago

12 Days - Thurs. July 19 to Mon., July 30, 2018

Heart of the West - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Flagstaff
Day 3 The Grand Canyon
Day 4 Monument Valley
Day 5 Mesa Verde
Day 6 Durango & Silverton
Days 7-8 En Route to Chicago

8 Days

Sat., June 9 to Sat., June 16, 2018

Sat., Sept. 8 to Sat., Sept. 15, 2018

Six National Treasures - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Whitefish
Day 3 Glacier National Park
Day 4 En Route Yellowstone
Days 5-6 Yellowstone
Days 7-8 Grand Tetons / Jackson Hole
Days 9-10 Salt Lake City
Day 11 Bryce Canyon National Park
Day 12 Zion National Park
Day 13 Grand Canyon
Days 14-15 En Route to Chicago

15 Days

Sun., June 3 to Sun., June 17, 2018 - SOLD OUT

Sun., July 8 to Sun., July 22, 2018 - NEW DATE

Sun., Aug. 5 to Sun., Aug. 19, 2018 - NEW DATE

America the Beautiful . . . West - 2018

Days 1-2 Chicago to Flagstaff
Day 3 The Grand Canyon
Days 4-5 En Route / Las Vegas
Day 6 En Route / Merced
Day 7 Yosemite National Park
Day 8 Sacramento
Days 9-10 En Route / San Francisco
Day 11 En Route to Elko, Nevada
Day 12 Salt Lake City, Utah
Days 13-14 En Route to Chicago

14 Days

Tues., May 1 to Mon., May 14, 2018

Tues., Sept. 25 to Mon., Oct. 8, 2018

Complete Trans-Canada Experience - 2018

Days 1-3 Chicago to Vancouver
Day 4 Vancouver
Day 5 En Route
Day 6 Jasper
Days 7-8 Icefields Parkway / Banff
Day 9 Depart Jasper
Days 10-11 En Route
Day 12 Montréal / En Route
Day 13 En Route to Chicago

13 Days

Sat., May 5 to Thurs., May 17, 2018 - LIMITED SPACE REMAINING

Sat., Oct. 20 to Fri., Nov. 2, 2018

Alaska Rail/Sail - 2018

Days 1-3 Chicago / Seattle
Day 4 Embarkation
Day 5 Cruising
Day 6 Juneau
Day 7 Glacier Bay
Day 8 Sitka
Day 9 Ketchikan
Day 10 Victoria
Day 11 Seattle / En Route
Days 12-13 En Route to Chicago

13 Days

Wed., May 9 to Mon., May 21, 2018 - LIMITED SPACE REMAINING

Wed., Sept 12, to Mon., Sept. 24, 2018

Hawaii Rail / Sail - 2018

Days 1-3 Chicago to Los Angeles
Day 4 Los Angeles / Star Princess
Days 5-8 Cruising
Day 9 Hilo, Hawaii
Day 10 Honolulu, Oahu
Day 11 Nawiliwili, Kauai
Day 12 Lahaina, Maui
Days 13-17 Cruising
Day 18 Ensenada, Mexico
Day 19 Los Angeles
Days 19-21 En Route to Chicago


21 Days

Wed., Feb. 14 to Tues., Mar., 6, 2018

Yellowstone / Glacier Discovery - 2018

Days 1-2    Chicago to Whitefish
Day 3    Glacier National Park
Day 4    En Route Yellowstone
Days 5–6    Yellowstone National Park
Day 7    Grand Teton Range
Days 8-10    En Route to Chicago

10 Days

Wed., July 11 to Fri., July 20, 2018

Wed., Aug. 1 to Fri., Aug. 10, 2018

Have Questions?

Have questions about an America by Rail tour? Use the contact form below and an ABR representative will be in touch shortly.
* Required

Golden Spike Rewards Program

As an America by Rail customer you are automatically enrolled as a member of our Golden Spike Rewards Program.

Follow Us On
Twitter
@americabyrail